Un lío

Tengo un lío en la cabeza. My brain is a mess. After spending most of my adolescent and all of my adult life studying Spanish, teaching the language, and living in Spain for two years, I have been catapulted into a new country with different customs, where they speak Portuguese, a language that is dangerously similar, yet so unlike Spanish. Combine that with my native language English, which I speak daily with my roommate and coworkers and there you have it. Un lío. A mess.

I’m not complaining. In fact, I rather enjoy the challenge of studying a new language while working to maintain the other tongues that I have learned. After all, it was my choice to come to Brazil, and since I’ve met so many wonderful Brazilians throughout my life, it has always been a country that has intrigued me. When the opportunity presented itself for me to move here and work, I knew I couldn’t say no.

So here I am in São Paulo. Teaching Spanish. Living with Americans. Surrounded by Brazilians. Three languages.

Leave a comment